Joey Logano has won the pole for the NASCAR Sprint Cup regular-season finale Saturday night at Richmond International Raceway.

Logano turned a lap a 126.470 mph to emerge from the final 12 drivers in the knockout qualifying format.

He edged Matt Kenseth, whose best lap came at 126.357 mph, and won his fifth pole of the season and the 13th of his career.

Four drivers went into qualifying needing to win the 26th race of the season to qualify for a spot in the playoffs, and all four made it into the final round.

David Ragan finished with the best spot of the four, earning the No. 5 starting spot. Tony Stewart will start 10th, Austin Dillon 11th and Kyle Larson 12th.

Four spots remain up for grabs for playoff berths.