Major League Baseball announced its tentative schedule for the 2016 season on Tuesday.

Among the highlights:

• The season will begin with a to-be-announced Sunday night game on April 3.

More from FoxSports

• Opening Day matchups (April 4) include: New York Mets at Kansas City Royals; St. Louis Cardinals at Pittsburgh Pirates; and Houston Astros at New York Yankees.

• The first Yankees-Boston Red Sox series is April 29-May1 at Fenway Park. The first Cardinals-Chicago Cubs series will be April 18-20 at Busch Stadium. The first Mets-Washington Nationals series is May 17-19 at Citi Field.

• San Diego will host the All-Star Game on July 12.

• The regular season will end on Oct. 2.

• Season-ending series include these potential division-deciding clashes: Pirates at Cardinals; Los Angeles Dodgers at San Francisco Giants; and Houston Astros at Los Angeles Angels.