Carl Edwards turned a lap of 135.164 mph to win the NASCAR Sprint Cup pole Friday at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

Edwards will lead the field to green for the first time since 2013 and for the first time for Joe Gibbs Racing.

Joey Logano, second last week in Kentucky, will stars second. David Ragan, Kyle Busch and Denny Hamlin completed the top five.

JGR put four cars in the top eight for Sunday's race: Edwards, Busch, Hamlin, and eighth-place Matt Kenseth.

Reed Sorenson was the lone driver who failed to qualify.

Edwards, who won this year at Charlotte, has never been a great qualifier. He has 14 career poles in a career that dates to 2004.