Djokovic, Federer to meet again in Indian Wells final

Indian Wells, CA ( - Novak Djokovic and Roger Federer will square off in the championship match of the BNP Paribas Open for a second consecutive year after the world's top two players both advanced Saturday at the $5.3 million Masters 1000 series event.

The world No. 1 and top-seeded Djokovic dominated Andy Murray 6-2, 6-3 in the first semifinal, with the second-seeded Federer continuing his quest for an unprecedented fifth career Indian Wells title by coming through with a 7-5, 6-4 decision over Milos Raonic.

Djokovic outlasted the 17-time Grand Slam champion Federer in three sets to claim his third Indian Wells title last year, though the Swiss great turned the tables by besting Djokovic in straight sets in the final in Dubai a month ago.

The Serbian star had little problem disposing of the fourth-seeded Murray. Djokovic broke the Scottish standout's first serve en route to easily taking the first set, then broke Murray again early in the second while winning in just an hour and 28 minutes.

Djokovic improved to 17-8 lifetime against Murray and has won the last six meetings between the two. That includes a four-set triumph in the final of January's Australian Open.

Raonic, coming off a tough win over Rafael Nadal in Friday's quarters, played Federer even through the first 10 games before having his serve broken in the 11th. Federer then closed out the opening set and scored another key break in the second prior to finishing off the sixth-seeded Canadian.

Federer captured this event three straight years from 2004-06 and again in 2012, with last year's loss to Djokovic his only finals defeat here.

In addition to last year's crown, Djokovic also titled at Indian Wells in 2008 and 2011 and was ousted by Nadal in the 2007 championship match.

Federer has prevailed in 20 of his 37 all-time matchups with Djokovic, including wins in three of the last five bouts.

Sunday's winner will take home $900,400.