Kentucky, Wisconsin, Villanova, Duke get No. 1 seeds

Indianapolis, IN ( - Kentucky, Wisconsin, Villanova and Duke were each awarded top seeds for the 2015 NCAA Tournament on Sunday.

Kentucky (34-0) predictably captured the No. 1 overall seed after winning the SEC tourney and becoming just the fourth team to go into the NCAA Tournament undefeated since Indiana in 1976. The three previous teams, including Wichita State last year, did not win the national title.

Those Wildcats, who were last year's runner-up to Connecticut, will play in the Midwest Region, while the Villanova Wildcats (32-2), who won the Big East regular season and tournament titles, will play in the East Region.

The Big Ten regular season and tourney champion Wisconsin Badgers (31-3) will try to make consecutive trips to the Final Four out of the West Region, while Duke (29-4) is the top seed in the South Region despite not even making the ACC tourney final.

The No. 2 seeds in the field are Kansas, Gonzaga, Arizona and Virginia. Notre Dame, Iowa State, Baylor and Oklahoma comprise the No. 3 seeds, while Maryland, Georgetown, North Carolina and Louisville round out the top four seeds in each region.

Reigning-champion Connecticut lost in the AAC Tournament title game on Sunday and did not garner an at-large bid.

The opening round -- referred to as the "First Four" -- commences Tuesday with a pair of games and continues Wednesday with two more contests.

In a matchup of No. 11 seeds in the West Region, BYU and Ole Miss will do battle on Tuesday, while the other 11th-seeded clash in the East Region features Boise State and Dayton. That game will take place Wednesday. The Flyers will get the benefit of home-court advantage with all four of the first-round games being played at University of Dayton Arena.

In the 16th-seeded showdowns, Manhattan and Hampton will square off Tuesday for the right to play Kentucky in the Midwest Region. North Florida and Robert Morris will face off Wednesday with the winner playing Duke in the South Region.

The "madness" truly begins with 32 games on Thursday and Friday, and the winners going on to the third round over the weekend.

Quicken Loans Arena in Cleveland will host the Midwest Regional semifinals and final on March 26 and 28, the same days the West Regional is decided at Staples Center in Los Angeles. The South's Sweet 16 and Elite Eight games will be played at NRG Stadium in Houston on March 27 and 29, while the East's Friday-Sunday scenario takes place at the Carrier Dome in Syracuse.

The Final Four will be April 4 at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis with the championship game two nights later.