Former Cup champion Kulwicki, Martin, Evernham nominated for NASCAR Hall of Fame

Former Cup champion Alan Kulwicki, driver Mark Martin and crew chief Ray Evernham are among the first-time nominees for the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

Crew chief Harry Hyde and driver Herschel McGriff also were named Friday as nominees.

There are 15 other nominees for the Hall of Fame: Buddy Baker, Red Byron, Richard Childress, Jerry Cook, Ray Fox, Rick Hendrick, Bobby Isaac, Terry Labonte, Raymond Parks, Benny Parsons, Larry Phillips, Bruton Smith, Mike Stefanik, Curtis Turner and Robert Yates.

Kulwicki was the 1992 champion in his final full season before he was killed in a plane crash. He had five wins in 207 career starts.

Martin won 40 Sprint Cup races and 49 in NASCAR's second-tier series. He's 17th in career Cup victories.

Evernham won three championships as Jeff Gordon's crew chief for Hendrick Motorsports in the 1990s.