Cameron Tringale has been disqualified from last week's PGA Championship after telling the rules committee that he might have whiffed on a tap-in putt in the final round and thus signed for an incorrect score.
Tringale tied for 33rd at Valhalla Golf Club.
Tringale signed for a 4 on the par-3 11th hole. He says his putter swung over the ball prior to tapping in from 3 inches for a bogey. Tringale says he called the PGA of America because of the slightest doubt whether his swing over the ball should have counted as a stroke.
Even though the competition is over, Tringale was disqualified under Rule 34-1-iii.
Tringale forfeits the $53,000 in earnings. He also loses 37 FedEx Cup points, which could be more costly.