Tringale disqualifies himself from PGA Championship

Louisville, KY ( - Feeling that he signed an incorrect scorecard in the final round last week, Cameron Tringale contacted the PGA of America, reported the mistake and asked to be disqualified from the PGA Championship.

"I have contacted the PGA of America and asked to be disqualified from last week's PGA Championship at Valhalla. On Sunday, I signed for a bogey '4' on the par-3 11th hole. While approaching the hole to tap in my 3-inch bogey putt, the putter swung over the ball prior to tapping in," Tringale explained in a statement. "Realizing that there could be the slightest doubt that the swing over the ball should have been recorded as a stroke, I spoke with the PGA of America and shared with them my conclusion that the stroke should have been recorded. I regret any inconvenience this has caused the PGA of America and my fellow competitors in what was a wonderful Championship."

Tringale had finished in a tie for 33rd. He will give up his $53,000 paycheck, and those finishing below him will get elevated payouts. The change in payouts will not effect the Ryder Cup team or order of final point standings.

Under Rule 34.1b, Tringale was disqualified for a stroke that was not recorded.

"We are very appreciative of Cameron coming forward to inform us of this situation," said PGA of America Chief Championships Officer Kerry Haigh. "It yet again shows the great values and traditions of the game and the honesty and integrity of its competitors."

Tringale drops to 71st on the money list and he will slide from 50th to 58th on the FedExCup points list.