Jones wins truck qualifying, heat race at Eldora

Rossburg, OH ( - Erik Jones won the pole for Wednesday night's Mudsummer Classic Camping World Truck Series race after posting the fastest lap in qualifying at Eldora Speedway, a half-mile dirt track.

Jones, who is driving the No. 51 Toyota for Kyle Busch Motorsports, also won the first of five qualifying heat races. The 18-year-old driver led all 10 laps in his heat.

Jones turned a lap at 90.393 mph during the two-lap single-truck qualifying session to claim his first career pole in the series, which came in his 10th start.

Earlier in the day, he recorded the fastest lap overall in practice at 90.749 mph.

Jones won the most recent truck race on July 11 at Iowa. It was his second career victory in the series.

Jeb Burton earned the second starting position for this 150-lap, 75-mile event at Eldora after winning heat race 2. Ron Hornaday Jr., the four-time series champion, took the checkered flag for heat race 3 to grab the third spot. Ryan Blaney and Johnny Sauter won heat races 4 and 5, respectively, to secure the fourth and fifth starting positions.

Austin Dillon, who won the inaugural MudSummer Classic here in 2013, will start 19th after finishing fourth in heat race 4. Dillon also started in that same position for last year's race.

John Wes Townley, Tyler Young, Jody Knowles, Norm Benning and Michael Annett grabbed the last five starting spots in the 30-truck field after they were the top-five finishers in the 15-lap "Last Chance Race."

Cody Erickson, Jennifer Jo Cobb, Joe Cobb and Jared Landers failed to qualify. Landers had to withdrawal from the heat races after he crashed in qualifying, damaging his truck beyond repair.