Hernandez, Wainwright named starters for All-Star Game

Minneapolis, MN ( - Seattle Mariners ace Felix Hernandez and St. Louis Cardinals right-hander Adam Wainwright have been selected as the starting pitchers for the 2014 All-Star Game at Target Field.

American League manager John Farrell of Boston and National League skipper Mike Matheny of St. Louis made the announcements at a Monday news conference, also laying out the starting lineups for each team.

Hernandez and Wainwright will each be making their first All-Star Game starts.

Now a five-time All-Star, Hernandez will be the second Mariner to start an All-Star Game. The other was Randy Johnson, who did it twice in 1995 and '97. Hernandez is 11-2 with an AL-best 2.12 ERA in 20 starts this season.

"It's an honor to be here and it's always fun (to be in an All-Star Game)," said Hernandez on Monday. "I just have to go out and do what I have to do, throw zeroes up there and help my team win."

Wainwright will be the first Cardinals All-Star starting pitcher since Chris Carpenter in 2005. He was chosen to start ahead of Dodgers ace Clayton Kershaw.

"It was not an easy task" said Matheny. "There were a lot of deserving pitchers out there."

Wainwright, an All-Star for the third time, is 12-4 with a 1.83 ERA in 19 starts. He is tied for the National League lead in victories with Cincinnati's Alfredo Simon and trails Kershaw's 1.78 ERA, although the Los Angeles lefty does not have enough innings pitched to qualify for the best mark.

"Aside from winning two World Series with the St. Louis Cardinals, this has to be one of the highlights of my baseball career," said Wainwright. "It's really cool. I can't wait to go out and hopefully lead our National League squad to a victory."

The lineup for the visiting National League will open with reigning MVP Andrew McCutchen of Pittsburgh in center field and will follow with Dodgers star Yasiel Puig in right field and Colorado shortstop Troy Tulowitzki.

Arizona first baseman Paul Goldschmidt will bat fourth and Miami's Giancarlo Stanton will serve as the designated hitter. Milwaukee third baseman Aramis Ramirez will hit sixth, followed by Philadelphia second baseman Chase Utley, Brewers catcher Jonathan Lucroy and Milwaukee's Carlos Gomez in left field.

New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter will play in his final All-Star as the leadoff man for the American League, followed by Angels phenom Mike Trout in left field and Seattle second baseman Robinson Cano.

Detroit first baseman Miguel Cabrera will bat cleanup, followed by Toronto's Jose Bautista in right field, Baltimore designated hitter Nelson Cruz, Orioles center fielder Adam Jones, Oakland third baseman Josh Donaldson and Royals catcher Salvador Perez.

Once again, the winner of the All-Star Game will give its league home-field advantage in the World Series.

The American League earned a 3-0 win last year at Citi Field to snap the NL's three-game winning streak. The Senior Circuit still owns a 43-39-2 mark in the all-time series.