Sign in to comment!

Menu
Home

Robben will not be punished at World Cup despite post-match comments about diving vs Mexico

  • Brazil Soccer WCup Netherlands Mexico-1.jpg

    Netherlands' Arjen Robben celebrates after the World Cup round of 16 soccer match between the Netherlands and Mexico at the Arena Castelao in Fortaleza, Brazil, Sunday, June 29, 2014. The Netherlands won the match 2-1. (AP Photo/Natacha Pisarenko) (The Associated Press)

  • Brazil Soccer WCup Netherlands Mexico-2.jpg

    Netherlands' Arjen Robben, right, talks to Mexico's Rafael Marquez after the Netherlands defeated Mexico 2-1 to advance to the quarterfinals during the World Cup round of 16 soccer match between the Netherlands and Mexico at the Arena Castelao in Fortaleza, Brazil, Sunday, June 29, 2014. (AP Photo/Eduardo Verdugo) (The Associated Press)

World Cup organizers will take no action against Arjen Robben after he apparently acknowledged diving during the Netherlands' 2-1 victory over Mexico in Sunday's second-round match.

The Dutch forward is reported to have apologized for diving early in the game, but not when he won the decisive penalty in injury time. He said that was a "definite foul."

Robben made his comments about diving on Dutch television, but the Dutch football association issued a statement saying his comments were misunderstood.

FIFA spokeswoman Delia Fischer says the disciplinary committee only "will look into serious infringements." She said a yellow card would not be issued retroactively against Robben.

She says: "We ask the players to play in the spirit of fair play. It's up to the referees to manage a match."