Moore to enter College Football Hall of Fame

Irving, TX ( - Having spent over half a century on the sideline, it was Jerry Moore's 24 seasons at Appalachian State that set him apart.

Now Moore will stand with the immortals of the game.

Moore was one of 16 people selected for induction to the College Football Hall of Fame, the National Football Foundation announced Thursday. The class will be formally inducted on Dec. 9 at the 57th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 9 at the Waldorf Astoria in New York.

The retired Moore, 74, is the winningest coach in Appalachian State University and Southern Conference history. During his tenure which spanned from 1989-2012, he compiled a 215-87 (.712) record, 10 conference championships, 18 postseason appearances and three straight NCAA Division I FCS/I-AA national titles (2005-07).

The 2006 Eddie Robinson Award winner as FCS national coach of the year also led Appalachian State to perhaps the most prominent upset in college football history, a 34-32 win over fifth-ranked Michigan in the 2007 season opener.

Moore was a coach for 51 years. He also was the head coach at North Texas State and Texas Tech, finishing with a 242-135-2 career mark over 31 seasons to rank 15th all-time in Division I coaching wins.

Joining Moore in the 2014 College Football Hall of Fame class were Dre Bly (defensive back, North Carolina, 1996-98), Tony Boselli (offensive tackle, Southern Cal, 1991-94), Dave Butz (defensive tackle, Purdue, 1970-72), Shane Conlan (linebacker, Penn State, 1983-86), Joe Hamilton (quarterback, Georgia Tech, 1996-99) and John Huard (linebacker, Maine, 1964-66).

In addition, Darrin Nelson (halfback, Stanford, 1977-78, 1980-81), Willie Roaf (offensive lineman, Louisiana Tech, 1990-92), John Sciarra (quarterback, UCLA, 1972-75), Sterling Sharpe (wide receiver, South Carolina, 1983, 1985-87), Leonard Smith (cornerback, McNeese State, 1979-82), Derrick Thomas (linebacker, Alabama, 1985-88), LaDainian Tomlinson (tailback, TCU, 1997-2000), Wesley Walls (tight end, Mississippi, 1985-88) and coach Mike Bellotti (Chico State, 1984-88 and Oregon, 1995-2008).

The new $66.5 million College Football Hall of Fame is under construction in Atlanta and scheduled to open in August.