Sign in to comment!



Ferrer reaches third round in Madrid

Madrid, Spain ( - Last year's French Open runner-up David Ferrer was a hard-fought second-round winner Tuesday at the $5 million Madrid Open, an ATP Masters 1000 event.

The fifth-seeded Spanish favorite outlasted compatriot Albert Ramos 7-6 (8-6), 5-7, 6-3 in a near three-hour battle on the red clay at the Magic Box.

"Albert was playing very well," said Ferrer. "He wasn't missing a lot of balls and it was really tough for me."

Ferrer enjoyed an opening-round bye at this French Open tune-up.

Other second-round results saw eighth-seeded Canadian Milos Raonic dismiss Frenchman Jeremy Chardy, 6-3, 6-3, 10th-seeded Japanese Kei Nishikori clobber Spanish wild card Guillermo Garcia-Lopez 6-3, 6-1, and Roberto Bautista Agut outduel fellow Spaniard Fernando Verdasco 2-6, 7-6 (7-4), 6-1.

In first-round action involving seeds on Day 3, Ukrainian Alexandr Dolgopolov upended 13th-seeded Italian Fabio Fognini 7-5, 4-6, 6-3 and Dutch qualifier Igor Sijsling upset 14th-seeded German Tommy Haas 3-6, 6-1, 6-4.

A fatigued Fognini was last week's runner-up in Munich.

"Fabio always plays well on clay. So it was a tough match and I'm happy to be through," said Dolgopolov.

Also in round one, Spaniard Nicolas Almagro needed 11 match points before finally outlasting Kazakhstani qualifier Andrey Golubev 6-3, 6-7 (9-11), 7-6 (7-4) in 2 hours, 31 minutes; South African Kevin Anderson overcame Czech veteran Radek Stepanek 3-6, 6-3, 6-4; Latvian Ernests Gulbis got past menacing Pole Jerzy Janowicz 7-6 (7-5), 3-6, 6-2; Croat Marin Cilic drubbed Portuguese Joao Sousa 6-1, 6-1; and Argentine Juan Monaco erased Austrian Jurgen Melzer 6-4, 6-3.

In some more second-round action on Wednesday, three-time champion Rafael Nadal will meet Monaco and seventh-seeded 2008 Madrid winner Andy Murray will take on Almagro.

Nadal topped Swiss Stan Wawrinka in last year's finale.

See the latest updates on the hottest midterm races from Fox News

Full Elections Coverage →

Keep up with all the 2014 races in

Coverage →