Conley wins Sportsmanship Award

New York, NY ( - Memphis Grizzlies guard Mike Conley has been named the winner of the NBA Sportsmanship Award.

Conley is the first Grizzlies player to receive the honor. He garnered 77 of a possible 334 first-place votes and 2,335 total points in balloting from NBA players.

The NBA will make a donation of $10,000 on behalf of Conley to the charity of his choice, the St. Jude Children's Research Hospital.

Conley was one of six finalists, one from each division. The other finalists were Boston's Jeff Green, Chicago's Mike Dunleavy, Phoenix's Channing Frye, Portland's Damian Lillard and Washington's Bradley Beal.

Green finished second in the balloting with 65 first-place votes and 1,971 points.

The trophy is named after former Detroit Pistons star Joe Dumars, the initial winner in 1995-96, and is given to a player who reflects the ideals of sportsmanship -- ethical behavior, fair play and integrity -- in amateur and professional basketball.