JGR aiming for 10th straight Nationwide win in Fontana

Fontana, CA ( - Joe Gibbs Racing won a Nationwide race at Auto Club Speedway for the first time in February 2008 when Tony Stewart, driving for the team at the time, took the checkered flag here.

The racing organization hasn't lost a Nationwide event at this track since then.

With drivers Kyle Busch, Matt Kenseth and Elliott Sadler, JGR will attempt to win its 10th consecutive race in NASCAR's second-tier series at ACS on Saturday.

Busch holds the record for most wins in the series here with six, including a victory one year ago. In fact, All of Busch's victories have come within the past eight races. Joey Logano won at the two-mile Southern California track in October 2009 and again in March 2012 when he drove for JGR.

Driving the No. 54 Toyota, Busch has won two of the first four Nationwide races this season (Phoenix and Bristol). Crew chief Adam Stevens is guiding Busch's efforts in the series for the second straight year. Stevens served as Logano's crew chief when Logano won here two years ago.

"Adam [Stevens] is our secret weapon, although not so secret anymore," Busch said. "He has proven to be a great team leader. This group of guys has been with him several years now, so really I was the new person to this team last year. The communication we have with each other, not only with Adam, but all the guys, makes it easier for me to do my job."

Matt Kenseth is scheduled to drive the No. 20 Toyota in this event. Kenseth is a four-time Nationwide race winner at ACS. He has not competed in a series event here since September 2007.

"When you go to a track like California - we go there once a year - so it's certainly nice to get the extra track time during the weekend by running on the Nationwide side since I feel it can be a benefit to our program on the Cup side," Kenseth said.

Sadler is driving the No. 11 car for JGR full-time this year. He has scored top-10 finishes in the last three Nationwide races at this track.

"It is a track that I have had some success at, so we are looking to unload quickly and pick up some speed," Sadler said. "I scored a win in the Sprint Cup Series in 2004 at Fontana in the first-ever night race, so I have some good memories."

Forty teams are on the entry list for the 300.

Series: NASCAR Nationwide. Date: Saturday, March 22. Race: 300. Site: Auto Club Speedway. Track: 2-mile oval. Start time: 5 p.m. ET. Laps: 150. Miles: 300. 2013 Winner: Kyle Busch. Television: ESPN. Radio: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio.