Reds place eight on DL

Cincinnati, OH ( - The Cincinnati Reds placed eight players on the disabled list on Sunday.

Pitchers Mat Latos, Aroldis Chapman, Sean Marshall and Jonathan Broxton, catcher Devin Mesoraco and infielder Skip Schumaker landed on the 15-day disabled list.

Going on the 60-day DL were infielder Jack Hannahan and pitcher Brett Marshall.

In other roster moves, the Reds designated pitcher Pedro Beato for assignment and reassigned outfielder Jason Bourgeois, pitchers Jumbo Diaz and Jeff Francis, catcher Corky Miller and infielder/outfielder Kristopher Negron to Triple-A Louisville.

Cincinnati also recalled catcher Tucker Barnhart and pitcher Curtis Partch from Louisville and selected the contracts of pitcher Trevor Bell, infielder Ramon Santiago and outfielder Roger Bernadina.

The Reds will open the season carrying 12 pitchers and 13 position players.