Sign in to comment!

Menu
Home

Golf

Sergio Garcia questioned about breach of rules, then cleared of any wrongdoing in Abu Dhabi

Sergio Garcia has been questioned about a breach of rules at the Abu Dhabi Championship, and was then cleared of any wrongdoing.

Garcia arrived at the National Course on Friday morning and was met by European Tour chief referee John Paramor, who led the Spaniard to a TV compound to review video footage from Thursday.

Garcia marked his ball on what was the ninth hole of his round, but then reached forward with his putter to tap down something on the green. The Spaniard said he was flattening a pitch mark, which is a legal action, and Paramor accepted Garcia's explanation after visiting the green on Friday.

The European Tour says "John Paramor is satisfied with Sergio's version of the matter and that is the end of the issue."