Dungy, Harrison among first-year finalists for HOF

Canton, OH ( - Tony Dungy and Marvin Harrison teamed up to win a Super Bowl together while with the Indianapolis Colts, and the head coach-wide receiver tandem took another step toward the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Thursday.

Thursday's cut trimmed the 25 semifinalists for the 2014 class down to 15.

Harrison and Dungy joined linebacker Derrick Brooks and tackle Walter Jones as the only first-year eligible candidates to reach the final 15.

Returning finalists from the 2013 class included running back Jerome Bettis, wide receivers Tim Brown and Andre Reed, offensive lineman Will Shields, defensive linemen Charles Haley and Michael Strahan, linebacker Kevin Greene, defensive back Aeneas Williams and former 49ers owner Edward DeBartolo.

Kicker Morten Andersen and safety John Lynch rounded out the list of 15 modern-era finalists.

Punter Ray Guy and defensive end Claude Humphrey -- the two previously announced senior nominees -- complete the group of players that will be considered for election.

The Class of 2014 will be determined at the Selection Committee's annual meeting on Saturday, Feb. 1 in New York the day before Super Bowl XLVIII.