LPGA announces season-long points race

Daytona Beach, FL ( - The LPGA will have a season-long points race to determine a lucrative prize at the conclusion of the 2014 campaign.

The inaugural "Race to the CME Globe" will start with the opening of the LPGA Tour schedule at the Bahamas LPGA Classic later this month and will conclude at the final event of the year, the newly renamed CME Group Tour Championship.

Points will be awarded for each event from the season opener in the Bahamas through the Lorena Ochoa Invitational in November, setting up the field for the Tour Championship, which starts Nov. 20.

The winner of the season-long points race will earn an unofficial money payout of $1 million -- the largest in women's golf.

"The addition of this concept fundamentally connects every event on our tour and promises big things in 2014 and beyond," said LPGA Tour commissioner Michael Whan. "The stakes have risen dramatically and the excitement level goes up for our players and each of our tournaments."

All tournaments will have the same point values except for the five major championships, which will carry 25 percent more value. The winner of all official LPGA events leading up to the Tour Championship will earn 500 points and the winner of each major championship will earn 625 points. Only LPGA Tour members are eligible to earn points.

For all LPGA events with a cut, points will be awarded to LPGA members who make the cut. For all events without a cut, points will be awarded to tour members who finish among the top 40 and ties. For the Lorena Ochoa Invitational, however, points will be awarded to members who finish in the top 20 and ties.

The field at the Tour Championship will consist of the following: the top 72 players on the Race to the CME Globe points standings at the conclusion of the Lorena Ochoa Invitational, any LPGA member -- not otherwise qualified -- with at least one official LPGA win during the season and any non-member with at least one official LPGA win during the year.

Points will then be reset for the Tour Championship to ensure that the points race will be won at the season-ending tournament. The points that a player earns at the Tour Championship will be added to her reset number and the player with the highest total will be named the winner of the Race to the CME Globe.