Garoppolo, Bass capture OVC's top honors

Nashville, TN ( - Eastern Illinois quarterback Jimmy Garoppolo and Tennessee State defensive end Anthony Bass were named the Ohio Valley Conference offensive and defensive players of the year, respectively, on Tuesday.

Garoppolo, a senior, and Bass, a junior, also headlined the All-OVC first team.

Eastern Kentucky wide receiver Devin Borders was named the OVC's freshman of the year and Eastern Illinois' Dino Babers was selected as the Roy Kidd Coach of the Year.


(As voted on by OVC head coach and sports information directors)


QB- Jimmy Garoppolo, Eastern Illinois, Sr.

RB - DaMarcus James, Jacksonville State, Jr.

RB - Shepard Little, Eastern Illinois, So.

WR - Erik Lora, Eastern Illinois, Sr.

WR - Walter Powell, Murray State, Sr.

TE - Jeff LePak, Eastern Illinois, Jr.

C - Max Holcombe, Jacksonville State, Jr.

OG - Collin Seibert, Eastern Illinois, Jr.

OG - Kadeem Edwards, Tennessee State, Sr.

OT - Dominic Pagliara, Eastern Illinois, Sr.

OT - Wesley Sherill, Tennessee Tech, Sr.


DL - Anthony Bass, Tennessee State, Jr.

DL - Pat Wertz, Eastern Illinois, Sr.

DL - Antonio Harper, Tennessee State, Sr.

DL - DJ Roberts, UT Martin, Sr.

LB - Nick Thrasher, Tennessee State, Jr.

LB - Ben Johnson, UT Martin, Sr.

LB - Tony Bell, UT Martin, Jr.

DB - Daniel Fitzpatrick, Tennessee State, Jr.

DB - Jourdan Wickliffe, Eastern Illinois, Jr.

DB - Pierre Warren, Jacksonville State, Jr.

DB - Nick Beard, Eastern Illinois, Sr.


PK - Griffin Thomas, Jacksonville State, Sr.

P - Chad Zinchini, Tennessee Tech, Sr.

RS - Walter Powell, Murray State, Sr.