Dungy, Harrison among first-year semifinalists for HOF

Canton, OH ( - Tony Dungy and Marvin Harrison teamed up to win a Super Bowl together while with the Indianapolis Colts, and the head coach-wide receiver tandem took another step towards the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Wednesday.

Wednesday's cut trimmed the 126 nominees for the 2014 class down 25.

Harrison and Dungy joined linebacker Derrick Brooks and tackle Walter Jones as the only first-year eligible candidates to reach the semifinal stage.

Head coach Jimmy Johnson and guard Steve Wisniewski were named semifinalists for the first time, while each of the other 19 names on the list had all been here before.

Finalists from 2013 on the ballot again include running back Jerome Bettis, wide receivers Tim Brown and Andre Reed, offensive lineman Will Shields, defensive linemen Charles Haley and Michael Strahan, linebacker Kevin Greene, defensive back Aeneas Williams, contributor George Young and owner and Eddie DeBartolo Jr.

Others to make the list were: kicker Morten Andersen, safety Steve Atwater, head coach Don Coryell, running backs Roger Craig and Terrell Davis, defensive end Charles Haley, tackle Joe Jacoby, safety John Lynch and linebacker Karl Mecklenburg.

The semifinalists will be reduced to 15 modern-era finalists that will join the two previously announced senior nominees -- punter Ray Guy and defensive end Claude Humphrey -- to be considered for election.

The Class of 2014, which will consist of between four to seven new members, will be determined at the Selection Committee's annual meeting on Saturday, Feb. 1, 2014 in New York the day before Super Bowl XLVIII.