Sports

Belichick refocuses on preparing for Broncos after disputed call ends loss to Panthers

  • Carolina Panthers' Luke Kuechly (59) blocks New England Patriots' Rob Gronkowski (87) on the final play during the second half of an NFL football game in Charlotte, N.C., Monday, Nov. 18, 2013. The Panthers won 24-20. (AP Photo/Chuck Burton)

    Carolina Panthers' Luke Kuechly (59) blocks New England Patriots' Rob Gronkowski (87) on the final play during the second half of an NFL football game in Charlotte, N.C., Monday, Nov. 18, 2013. The Panthers won 24-20. (AP Photo/Chuck Burton)  (The Associated Press)

  • Carolina Panthers' Robert Lester, center, intercepts a New England Patriots pass on the final play of an NFL football game in Charlotte, N.C., Monday, Nov. 18, 2013. The Panthers won 24-20. (AP Photo/Chuck Burton)

    Carolina Panthers' Robert Lester, center, intercepts a New England Patriots pass on the final play of an NFL football game in Charlotte, N.C., Monday, Nov. 18, 2013. The Panthers won 24-20. (AP Photo/Chuck Burton)  (The Associated Press)

  • New England Patriots head coach Bill Belichick walks off the field following an NFL football game against the Carolina Panthers in Charlotte, N.C., Monday, Nov. 18, 2013. Carolina won 24-20. (AP Photo/Gerry Broome)

    New England Patriots head coach Bill Belichick walks off the field following an NFL football game against the Carolina Panthers in Charlotte, N.C., Monday, Nov. 18, 2013. Carolina won 24-20. (AP Photo/Gerry Broome)  (The Associated Press)

Bill Belichick isn't wasting time dwelling on the disputed call that ended the Patriots' loss to the Carolina Panthers.

New England's coach is too busy preparing for the Denver Broncos on Sunday night.

Belichick said Tuesday he had no further comment about the officiating in Monday night's 24-20 defeat at Carolina. On the final play, officials waved off a penalty that was called when Panthers linebacker Luke Kuechly wrapped up tight end Rob Gronkowski in the end zone.

Belichick said after the game he received no explanation for the decision. Referee Clete Blakeman told pool reporters that officials conferred and decided Tom Brady's pass was underthrown and wasn't catchable.

___

AP NFL website: www.pro32.ap.org