Hurdle named NL Manager of the Year

Clint Hurdle of the Pittsburgh Pirates has been named National League Manager of the Year by the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

The announcement for the American League's top manager is coming up.

Hurdle, in his third season as Pirates manager, led a 15-win improvement that landed the team its first winning record and postseason appearance since 1992.

The Pirates went 94-68, finished second in the NL Central behind the St. Louis Cardinals and beat the Cincinnati Reds in the wild-card game. They lost to the Cardinals in the NLDS.

Hurdle topped fellow finalists Don Mattingly of the Los Angeles Dodgers and Fredi Gonzalez of the Atlanta Braves for the award.

He received 25 first-place votes and 140 points overall to top Mattingly, who garnered two first-place votes and 68 points. Gonzalez had three first-place votes and 43 points.

Hurdle is the second Pittsburgh manager to win the award after Jim Leyland, who was honored in 1990 and '92.