Umps get it wrong, then get it right

Controversy struck early in Game 1 of the World Series.

In the bottom of the first inning with one out and runners at first and second, the Cardinals got David Ortiz to ground one to second for what was sure to be an easy inning-ending double play. But, things got messy when Pete Kozma tried to transfer the ball to his throwing hand before he had it secured in his glove.

Initially and almost unbelievably, 2nd base umpire Dana DeMuth called Dustin Pedroia out at second. This, of course, triggered the expected groan from the Boston crowd and a friendly visit from Red Sox manager, John Farrell.

Farrell must have made a convincing case, considering the whole ump crew gathered to discuss the incident. Eventually, officials came to the obvious conclusion that Pedroia was safe.

After the call was reversed, the umps were paid yet another friendly visit -- this time from Cardinal manager, Mike Matheny.

Once everyone had their say and the correct call was made, play continued. And, to the dismay of Cardinal fans everywhere, Mike Napoli smacked a bases-clearing double to give Boston a 3-0 lead.

Though he hasn't thrown a pitch for over 100 years, Old Hoss Radbourn still mocked poor Cardinals hurler, Adam Wainwright.

That's more runs than I gave up in all my Series starts combined.

-- Old Hoss Radbourn (@OldHossRadbourn) October 24, 2013

The original article can be found at Umps get it wrong, then get it right.