Sign in to comment!



Referee explains penalty that cost Patriots in 30-27 overtime loss to Jets

  • f0e9ffa861f2c523400f6a7067005afc.jpg

    New England Patriots head coach Bill Belichick shakes hands with New York Jets head coach Rex Ryan after an NFL football game Sunday, Oct. 20, 2013 in East Rutherford, N.J. The Jets won the game 30-27. (AP Photo/Seth Wenig) (The Associated Press)

  • d67033c861cec423400f6a70670063d2.jpg

    New York Jets head coach Rex Ryan stands on the sideline during the second half of an NFL football game against the New England Patriots on Sunday, Oct. 20, 2013, in East Rutherford, N.J. (AP Photo/Seth Wenig) (The Associated Press)

Referee Jerome Boger explained in a pool report the penalty committed by Patriots defensive tackle Chris Jones that negated a missed Jets field goal in overtime. Nick Folk soon made a 42-yarder to win the game 30-27 Sunday.

Pool reporter Mike Reiss asked Boger: "Please explain the penalty that was called on No. 94 (Jones) on the field goal."

Boger: "The call was that No. 94 on the defense pushed his teammate into the formation. That is a rule change for 2013 that a teammate cannot push a teammate into the opponents' formation."

Reiss: "Is it any type of push? Is it a two-handed push?"

"Any push. It could be with the body, not necessarily with the hand, but with the body into his teammate, into the formation. It's any type of pushing action."

Reiss: "Is there anything else to go over with this penalty?"

Boger: "No, the umpire's flag went up almost instantaneously as he observed the action. We just enforced it as he called it.

Reiss: "And that's a 15-yard penalty."

Boger: "For unsportsmanlike conduct."


AP NFL website: