Gilbert garners Tour Championship title

Max Gilbert shot 6-under-par 66 on Sunday and won the Tour Championship of Canada by a single stroke.

Gilbert finished 72 holes at 20-under-par 268 at Sunningdale Golf & Country Club's Championship Course and secured his first PGA Tour Canada win.

Overnight leader Trevor Murphy shot 68 and ended a stroke back at 19-under, while defending champion Eugene Wong (67) and Jose Toledo (66) tied for third at 14-under. Nathan Tyler (68) and Alex Kang (73) shared fifth at minus-13.

Mark Hubbard carded a 72 and moved into third place on the Order of Merit with a tie for seventh at 12-under.

The top-five players on the Order of Merit at the end of this event gained Tour status for next season. They were: (1) Mackenzie Hughes, (2) Riley Wheeldon, (3) Hubbard, (4) Hugo Leon and (5) Wil Collins.

Gilbert started the final round one stroke off Murphy's pace and mixed an eagle with five birdies and a bogey to surpass the overnight leader and secure his maiden victory on tour.

The pair were tied entering the par-4 17th, where Gilbert tallied a birdie to go ahead for good.

At the last, Murphy's 25-foot birdie effort popped out of the cup, allowing Gilbert to 2-putt from 15 feet for the win.

NOTES: As the Order of Merit winner, Hughes earned exempt status on the Tour next year ... Hubbard needed to finish solo 12th or better to move into the top five on the Order of Merit ... Murphy was attempting to secure his first PGA Tour Canada win.