Dungy, Holmgren, Gruden among first-year eligibles for HOF

Super Bowl winning coaches Tony Dungy, Mike Holmgren and Jon Gruden are among 126 modern-era nominees for the 2014 Class of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Dungy, Holmgren and Gruden are among 16 first-time eligible candidates, joined in that category by wide receiver Marvin Harrison, running backs Warrick Dunn and Shaun Alexander, quarterback Trent Green, offensive linemen Willie Anderson and Walter Jones, linebackers Derrick Brooks, Tedy Bruschi, Willie McGinest and Zach Thomas, and defensive backs Rodney Harrison, Sam Madison and Patrick Surtain.

Finalists from 2013 on the ballot again include running back Jerome Bettis, wide receivers Tim Brown and Andre Reed, offensive lineman Will Shields, defensive linemen Charles Haley and Michael Strahan, linebacker Kevin Greene, defensive back Aeneas Williams and owners Art Modell and Eddie DeBartolo Jr.

The preliminary list will be whittled down to 25 semifinalists to be announced in late November. Those semifinalists will be reduced to 15 modern-era finalists that will join the two previously announced senior nominees -- punter Ray Guy and defensive end Claude Humphrey -- to be considered for election.

The Class of 2014, which will consist of between four to seven new members, will be determined at the Selection Committee's annual meeting on Saturday, Feb. 1, 2014 in New York the day before Super Bowl XLVIII.