Elliott aiming for another truck win in Iowa

Chase Elliott made history in the Camping World Truck Series last weekend with a dramatic victory in the inaugural race at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park.

At age 17, Elliott became the youngest driver to win a race in the series. He surpassed the previous record set by Ryan Blaney, who won at Iowa Speedway one year ago when he was 18. Elliott, the son of former NASCAR Cup Series champion Bill Elliott, bumped into the side of leader Ty Dillon and spun him out on the final turn of the last lap for the victory. It was the series' maiden visit to Canada and the first road-course race in 13 years.

Four different drivers under the age of 21 have won a truck race this season: Kyle Larson (Rockingham), Jeb Burton (Texas), Blaney (Pocono) and Elliott. Dillon, who is 21 years old, won at Kentucky in June.

Elliott is scheduled to make his seventh career truck start on Sunday at Iowa. He finished fifth here in July. For the second year in a row, the series is competing at this 0.875-mile racetrack twice during the season.

"I think we learned a lot during our last trip to Iowa, setup-wise, and that gives us a better starting point in practice," Elliott said. "Now that we have one run here under our belts, the guys at the shop were able to make better preparations to fight the things we struggled with last time. Coming off a win (in Canada) and returning to an oval doesn't hurt either."

Timothy Peters won the first race at Iowa this year. Peters started 10th and led 39 of 200 laps, including the final 27. He is the only driver with multiple truck victories at this track. His first win here came in July 2012.

"It's kind of cool to say that I am in that category of the 'first'," Peters said. "I'm looking forward to getting back to a racetrack where we won at earlier this year and capitalize on another good run and try to keep gaining in the championship point standings."

Matt Crafton comes to Iowa with a 47-point lead over second-place and defending series champion James Buescher. Dillon is 63 points behind. Burton is fourth in the standings (-65), followed by Miguel Paludo (-68), Peters (-70) and Blaney (-82). Crafton has finished in the top-10 in each of the first 14 races this season.

Thirty-six teams are on the preliminary entry list for the Iowa 200.

Series: NASCAR Camping World. Date: Sunday, Sept. 8. Race: Iowa 200. Site: Iowa Speedway. Track: 0.875-mile oval. Start time: 2 p.m. ET. Laps: 200. Miles: 175. 2012 Winner: Ryan Blaney. Television: FOX Sports 1. Radio: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio.