Cowboys rework deal with McCray, cut Bell, Armstrong

The Dallas Cowboys reached the 53-man roster limit Saturday by reworking special teams stalwart Danny McCray's contract and releasing a pair of veterans, offensive tackle Demetress Bell and wide receiver Anthony Armstrong.

Other notable moves for Dallas including safety Matt Johnson's move to the injured reserve list along with the releases of wide receiver Danny Coale, quarterback Alex Tanney and cornerbacks Sterling Moore and Micah Pellerin.

Johnson, a fourth-round pick of the Cowboys in 2012, has yet to suit up for a regular-season game due to injuries.

Others players waived by the Cowboys included safety Jakar Hamilton, wide receiver Tim Benford, running back Kendial Lawrence, offensive lineman Kevin Kowalski, offensive tackle Edawn Coughman, defensive ends Jabari Fletcher and Thaddeus Gibson, linebacker Taylor Reed, cornerback Xaiver Brewer, offensive guard Ray Dominguez, defensive tackle Jerome Long, defensive end Jason Vega and linebackers Caleb McSurdy, Cameron Lawrence and Brandon Magee.

The Cowboys open the regular season on Sept. 8, when they host the New York Giants.