The Cincinnati Bengals waived veteran quarterback John Skelton, and placed running back Bernard Scott on the physically unable to perform list as part of a series of roster moves on Saturday to reach the NFL's mandated roster limit of 53 players.

The team also placed linebacker Emmanuel Lamur on the injured reserve list with a shoulder injury.

Skelton, a former starter in Arizona, lost out to Josh Johnson in his bid to back up starting QB Andy Dalton. Scott, meanwhile, will remain with the team for rehabilitation and meetings, but may not practice for Weeks 1 through 6 of the regular season.

The Bengals also released veteran offensive tackle Dennis Roland and waived the following 18 players: fullback John Conner, long snapper Bryce Davis, safety Tony Dye, offensive tackle Reid Fragel, wide receivers Cobi Hamilton, Taveon Rogers and Roy Roundtree, running back Daniel Herron, center T.J. Johnson, cornerbacks Chris Lewis-Harris, Shaun Prater and Onterio McCalebb, defensive end Dontay Moch, linebackers J.K. Schaffer and Bruce Taylor, defensive tackle Terrence Stephens, and offensive guard John Sullen.

Cincinnati will open its season on Sept. 8, when it visits the Chicago Bears.