Sign in to comment!

Menu
Home

Golf

Woody Austin assessed 4-stroke penalty for having 15th club in bag at PGA Championship

Woody Austin has been assessed a four-stroke penalty at the PGA Championship for carrying an extra club.

Golfers are allowed to carry 14 clubs in their bags. Austin discovered the extra club while playing the third hole at Oak Hill on Friday.

He removed it from the bag and reported the infraction to an official.

The rules call for a two-stroke penalty for each hole played with an extra club, up to a maximum of four strokes. Austin added two strokes to his score for the first and second holes.

While rare, Austin isn't the first player to receive such a penalty. Ian Woosnam was in contention at the 2001 British Open when he began the final round with 15 clubs. He took a two-stroke penalty and finished third.