The Associated Press has learned that Andretti Autosport has signed on to compete in the environmentally friendly FIA Formula E championship next season.

Formula E will feature zero-emission cars racing in 10 cities around the world.

Michael Andretti says he plans to run one car for the championship, while his second entry could be a "star car" using well-known drivers such as IndyCar reigning champion Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti or James Hinchcliffe based on their availability.

The races will be held September 2014 to June 2015 for a "winter season." Teams will have two drivers and four series-provided electric cars in the first season.

The car batteries will last up to 25 minutes at a time, so drivers will have to switch cars during the race while their batteries recharge.