Harvey, Scherzer named starters for All-Star Game

New York Mets ace Matt Harvey and Detroit Tigers right-hander Max Scherzer have been selected as the starting pitchers for the 2013 All-Star Game at Citi Field.

National League manager Bruce Bochy of San Francisco and American League skipper Jim Leyland of Detroit made the announcements at a Monday news conference, also laying out the starting lineups for each team.

Harvey will be the first pitcher to start an All-Star Game in his home park since Roger Clemens for Houston in 2004. The young Mets right-hander is 7-2 with a 2.35 ERA and an NL-best 147 strikeouts in 19 starts this season.

"It's a huge honor," said Harvey about making the start. "It's here in New York. The fans have been great all year here, and hopefully I can make them proud."

Harvey, who didn't make his first big league start until July of last year, will be the first Mets All-Star starting pitcher since Dwight Gooden in 1988. Gooden also started the 1986 game. The only other Met pitcher to start an All-Star Game was Tom Seaver in 1970.

"They are two of the best," Harvey said. "The support Dwight's given me this season has been tremendous."

Scherzer is 13-1 this season, suffering his first loss of the campaign on Saturday against Texas. He is tied with Tampa Bay's Matt Moore for the big league lead in wins and is second in the AL with 152 strikeouts with an ERA of 3.19 in 19 starts.

"This is what you dream for," said Scherzer. "It means so much to me. I'm really excited to pitch in my first (All-Star) game."

Scherzer will be the second straight Tiger to start the All-Star Game, following Justin Verlander last year. The last AL team to have back-to-back All-Star starting pitchers was Oakland with Dave Stewart in 1989 and Bob Welch in 1990.

Other Detroit starting pitchers in the All-Star Game were Kenny Rogers (2006), Jack Morris (1985 & '81), Mark Fidrych (1976), Denny McLain (1966), Jim Bunning (1957, 1961-62) and Hal Newhouser (1947).

The lineup for the visiting American League will open with Angels phenom Mike Trout in left field, followed by Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano and reigning MVP Miguel Cabrera of Detroit at third.

Baltimore slugger Chris Davis leads the majors with 37 homers and will play first while batting cleanup. He will be followed by Toronto right fielder Jose Bautista, Boston designated hitter David Ortiz, Baltimore center fielder Adam Jones, Minnesota catcher Joe Mauer and Orioles shortstop J.J. Hardy.

Cincinnati second baseman Brandon Phillips will lead off for the National League with St. Louis right fielder Carlos Beltran next. Cincinnati first baseman Joey Votto will hit third and Mets third baseman David Wright will bat cleanup.

Colorado left fielder Carlos Gonzalez will hit fifth followed by St. Louis catcher Yadier Molina and Rockies shortstop Troy Tulowitzki. Colorado's Michael Cuddyer will serve as the designated hitter and Washington's Bryce Harper will bat ninth and play center field.

Once again, the winner of the All-Star Game will give its league home-field advantage in the World Series.

"I think it's a nice touch," said Leyland about the game meaning something other than pride. "You win this game and you get (home field). Statistically, it says it gives you an advantage. We're going to try our best to win this game."

The National League has won the All-Star Game each of the last three years, including an 8-0 rout in 2012, and owns a record of 43-38-2 in the all-time series.