All-Star Game umpires announced

New York, NY ( - Gary Cederstrom will be the crew chief and home plate umpire for the 2014 All-Star Game on July 15 at Target Field.

A regular-season crew chief in his 21st year of major league service, Cederstrom will work his second All-Star Game. He was the third base umpire for the 2003 contest in Chicago.

Cederstrom's crew will consist of Jeff Nelson at first base, Bob Davidson at second base, Scott Barry at third base, Todd Tichenor in left field and Vic Carapazza in right field. Davidson will work his third All-Star Game, previously working the Mid-Summer Classic in 1987 and 1993, while Nelson's only other All-Star Game came in 2006. Barry, Tichenor and Carapazza will make the All-Star debuts.

Jerry Layne, a 26-year veteran umpire, will be the replay official based in New York.

The official scorers will be long-time Minnesota-based scorers Stew Thornley and Gregg Wong, as well as Minneapolis Star-Tribune writer La Velle Neal, the president of the Baseball Writers' Association of America.