Referee admits error in Italy vs Brazil Confed Cup match

Published June 23, 2013

| Associated Press

FIFA says the referee who awarded Italy a goal after first whistling for a penalty in Saturday's match against Brazil acknowledges making the wrong call.

Referee Ravshan Irmatov blew his whistle to award Italy a penalty. Moments later, as play continued, Giorgio Chiellini scored. Irmatov was seen pointing at the penalty spot and then giving a goal.

FIFA spokesman Pekka Odriozola said: "He has admitted he made a mistake."

Irmatov is a widely respected referee from Uzbekistan who had been expected to have a chance to referee the Confederations Cup final. Now he is expected to be sent home with his assistants, who also made two key errors in Saturday's game.

Brazil won the match 4-2.

URL

http://www.foxnews.com/sports/2013/06/23/referee-admits-error-in-italy-vs-brazil-confed-cup-match/