Sign in to comment!



Dale Jarrett, Maurice Petty latest from racing families voted into NASCAR Hall of Fame

  • 6f55b54527dc9b11320f6a7067005931.jpg

    FILE - In this Nov. 20, 2009, file photo, NASCAR team owner Rick Hendrick talks to the media during a news conferenceat the Homestead-Miami International Speedway in Homestead, Fla. The late NASCAR matriarch Anne B. France and car owners Richard Childress and Hendrick are among the nominees for the next class of the NASCAR Hall of Fame, which will be announced Wednesday night, May 22, 2013. (AP Photo/Wilfredo Lee, File) (The Associated Press)

  • fc67b9fa23dd8811320f6a7067001a5b.jpg

    FILE - In this May 23, 2009, file photo, Lowe's Motor Speedway owner Bruton Smith talks about the 50th anniversary of the NASCAR Sprint Cup series Coca-Cola 600 auto race during a news conference in Concord, N.C. The eccentric track owner this week suggested he might move a race away from Charlotte Motor Speedway at the exact same time a committee is considering electing him into the NASCAR Hall of Fame. (AP Photo/Terry Renna, File) (The Associated Press)

Former Sprint Cup champion Dale Jarrett and master mechanic Maurice Petty headline the latest group of inductees in the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

Dale Jarrett Wednesday joined his father Ned in the hall while Maurice becomes the fourth member of the storied Petty family to get in.

Tim Flock won two NASCAR titles in the 1950s and was elected. Jack Ingram was a champion in NASCAR's Late Model Sportsman division, the precursor to what's now the Nationwide Series. The final Hall of Famer was Fireball Roberts, who won 33 times from 1950 until his death in 1964 that came weeks after a crash in Charlotte.

Roberts lost a tiebreaker for the fifth spot a year ago to Buck Baker.

The group will be inducted into the hall in January.