Sign in to comment!



Helio Castroneves, Dario Franchitti chasing historic 4th Indianapolis 500 win


Dario Franchitti, of Scotland, waits next to his car during a break in a practice session on the second day of qualifications for the Indianapolis 500 auto race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indianapolis Sunday, May 19, 2013. (AP Photo/Tom Strattman) (The Associated Press)

Helio Castroneves hopes a new generation of fans gets to see a four-time winner of the Indianapolis 500.

It's been 22 years since the last driver won his fourth Indy 500 title. Now Castroneves and Dario Franchitti are trying to join the exclusive club at Sunday's race.

Rick Mears, who won his fourth in 1991, A.J. Foyt and Al Unser are the only three drivers with four victories.

Franchitti won his third last year, and this will be the first time since 1987 that two three-time winners will start the Indy 500. Scotland's Franchitti or Brazil's Castroneves would be the first foreign-born four-time winner.

Castroneves said Monday this is an "incredible opportunity for the fans to have not only one but two guys trying to make history."