Tiger Woods choice of a penalty drop in 2nd round at the Masters is under review

Published April 13, 2013

| Associated Press

The weekend at the Masters is under way with officials reviewing Tiger Woods' penalty drop on the 15th hole of the second round.

Woods' third shot from 87 yards Saturday hit the pin and caromed back off the green, down the slope and into the water. Instead of going to the drop area, Woods chose to play his fifth shot from the same area. He said he chose to go two yards farther back from his original spot to be sure the ball landed short of the flag.

At question is whether that violates Rule 27-1, that the ball should be dropped as nearly as possible to the spot where it was last played.

URL

http://www.foxnews.com/sports/2013/04/13/tiger-woods-choice-penalty-drop-in-2nd-round-at-masters-is-under-review/