Florida, Wichita State, Arizona, Virginia get No. 1 seeds

Florida, Wichita State, Arizona and Virginia were each given top seeds for the 2014 NCAA Tournament on Sunday.

Florida (32-2), soon after capturing the SEC title over Kentucky, earned the No. 1 overall seed. The Gators will play in the South Region and enter the tourney riding a program-record 26-game winning streak.

For the first time since 1991, a team enters the "Big Dance" undefeated, as Wichita State (34-0), a Final Four team last year, ran through its challenging non-conference schedule and Missouri Valley Conference slate unscathed. The Shockers will play in the Midwest Region.

Arizona (30-4) was awarded a No. 1 seed in the West Region despite losing to UCLA in the Pac-12 title game on Saturday. The Wildcats opened the season with 21 consecutive wins and have stayed afloat quite nicely following the season- ending injury to starting forward Brandon Ashley in early February.

Virginia (28-6) finished its ACC season remarkably strong, as the Cavaliers, who will play in the East Region, captured the tournament crown over Duke on Sunday and have not lost in regulation since Jan. 13.

The No. 2 seeds in the field are Kansas, Wisconsin, Michigan and Villanova. Syracuse, Creighton, Iowa State and Duke comprise the No. 3 seeds, while UCLA, San Diego State, Louisville and Michigan State round out the top four seeds in each region.

Reigning-champion Louisville was given a No. 4 seed in the Midwest Region.

The opening round -- referred to as the "First Four" -- commences Tuesday. In a matchup of No. 12 seeds in the Midwest Region, NC State and Xavier do battle, while Mount St. Mary's and Albany fight for the right to play Florida.

Wednesday features Iowa and Tennessee vying for the No. 11 seed and Texas Southern and Cal Poly playing as 16 seeds in the Midwest Region.

All four games will be played at University of Dayton Arena.

The "madness" truly begins with 32 games on Thursday and Friday, and the winners going on to the third round over the weekend.

Madison Square Garden will host the East Regional semifinals and final on March 28 and 30, the same days the Midwest Regional is decided at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis. The West's Sweet 16 and Elite Eight games will be played at Honda Center in Anaheim on March 27 and 29, while the South's Friday-Sunday scenario takes place at FedExForum in Memphis.

The Final Four will be April 5 at AT&T Stadium in Arlington with the championship game two nights later.