Ferrer, Nadal, Almagro ease into Mexican Open quarters

The Spanish triumvirate of David Ferrer, Rafael Nadal and Nicolas Almagro -- the top three seeds and all former champs -- each won Wednesday to reach the quarterfinals at the $1.213 million Mexican Open tennis event.

Ferrer, who has won this title three years running, needed just 78 minutes to dispose of American Wayne Odesnik, 6-2, 6-1, while Nadal rolled to a 6-0, 6-4 win over Argentine wild card Martin Alund.

The last match on the red clay at the Fairmont Acapulco Princess saw Almagro down countryman Tommy Robredo, 6-4, 7-6 (7-4).

Nadal captured the Mexican Open back in 2005. Almagro was the Acapulco champ in 2008 and 2009 and runner-up to Ferrer in 2011.

Argentine Horacio Zeballos, seeded eighth, was an easy 6-2, 6-3 winner over Spain's Daniel Gimeno-Traver.

The remaining matches on Wednesday pitted unseeded players against each other, with Argentine Leonardo Mayer, Colombian Santiago Giraldo and Fabio Fognini and Paolo Lorenzi -- both from Italy -- all advancing.

The 2013 Acapulco winner will claim $291,800.