Nadal, Ferrer and Almagro first-round winners in Mexico

Rafael Nadal was a first-round winner at the $1.213 million Mexican Open tennis event Tuesday.

The No. 2 seed Nadal was a 6-2, 6-2 victor over Diego Sebastian Schwartzman on the red clay at the Fairmont Acapulco Princess. Nadal titled in Sao Paulo two weeks ago and captured the Mexican Open in 2005

Top-seeded David Ferrer downed Albert Ramos 6-0, 6-3. Ferrer was last week's Buenos Aires champion and is also the three-time reigning Acapulco titlist.

The third-seeded Nicolas Almagro defeated Cesar Ramirez 6-0, 6-1. Almagro was the Acapulco champ in 2008 and 2009 and runner-up to Ferrer in 2011

Three seeded players fell victim to upsets.

Fabio Fognini took out fourth-seeded Stanislas Wawrinka 6-2, 7-6 (7-3), Andrey Kuznetsov was a 4-6, 6-4, 6-4 victor over No. 6 seed Thomaz Belluci, and Paolo Lorenzi downed No. 7 seed Benoit Paire 4-6, 6-3, 6-4.

In other seeded action, No. 8 seed Horacio Zeballos beat Simone Bolelli 7-5, 6-1.

In unseeded play, Daniel Gimeno-Trever defeated Carlos Berlocq 6-3, 6-2, Tommy Robredo triumphed over Filippo Volandri 6-2, 2-6, 6-4, Wayne Odesnik downed Lukasz Kubot 6-3, 6-4 and 2008 runner-up David Nalbandian fell to Aljaz Bedene 4-6, 6-0, 6-4.

The 2013 Acapulco winner will claim $291,800.