CUP: Sunday Daytona Notebook

Other Speedweeks 2013 Notebooks




VIDEO: Harvick Wins - Sprint Unlimited



Wreck Gallery

Race Gallery

Kevin Harvick Wins

[SUNDAY 10:20 am ET]

While Kevin Harvick was the big winner in Saturday night’s Sprint Unlimited at Daytona International Speedway, the big losers were Kurt Busch and Mark Martin — but not because of anything they did themselves.

Busch and Martin were each caught in wrecks not of their own making both in practice on Friday and the race on Saturday. And two torn-up race cars at the start of Speedweeks can put any team in a deep hole that can take weeks or even months to dig their way out of.

“Two days, two wrecked cars and only a few laps completed,” said Busch, the 2011 race winner. “It's been a disappointing start to say the least. But the good news is that we've had fast cars. If our luck can change we'll be competitive for the big show in next week's Daytona 500 … Of course I'm disappointed, but I also feel bad for the entire Furniture Row team for all the hard work they put into this superspeedway program and delivering fast cars.”

“I'm going to take out my frustrations on the weights this morning,” Martin Tweeted Sunday morning.

[SUNDAY 8:17 am ET]

ROLL FOR THE POLL - Today’s only on-track activity at Daytona International Speedway is Daytona 500 qualifying, which begins at 1 p.m. ET and will be televised live on FOX and FOX Deportes. Each driver gets two qualifying laps, with the second almost always being the faster of the two, because it takes so long for the cars to get up to speed.

Here’s where it gets tricky: Qualifying on Sunday only locks in the front row — the fastest driver becomes the Daytona 500 pole-sitter and the second-fastest will sit on the outside of Row 1 for the race.

• Positions 3-32 will be determined Thursday, Feb. 21 during the Budweiser Duel 150 qualifying races, which will be televised live on SPEED starting with NASCAR Race Day at 1 p.m. ET.

• Positions 33-36 will be the four fastest drivers in Sunday’s qualifying session who failed to lock themselves during the Budweiser Duel.

• Positions 37-42 go to the six cars that didn’t qualify yet but had the highest number of owner points from 2012.

• The 43rd and final spot is reserved for a past NASCAR Sprint Cup champion who failed to qualify for the race. If no past champion needs the final slot, it will go to the next highest car in 2012 owner points.

Tom Jensen is the Editor in Chief of, Senior NASCAR Editor at RACER and a contributing Editor for You can follow him online at