Stacked Southeastern Conference gets even tougher with addition of Texas A&M and Missouri

The Southeastern Conference has won three out of the past four college baseball championships, so the league didn't need to get any tougher.

It might have anyway.

The SEC adds Missouri and Texas A&M this season, two solid baseball programs that make the league even deeper. It already had no shortage of candidates to go to the College World Series and compete for a national championship. The college season opens Friday for all 14 teams, with conference play beginning in March.

The SEC's coaches picked Arkansas to win the league title. The Razorbacks have one of the league's premier pitchers — and a potential No. 1 Major League Baseball draft pick — in right-hander Ryne Stanek. Vanderbilt was picked to win the Eastern Division.