Boston College, Northeastern to square off in Beanpot final

Quinn Smith tallied twice and Boston College advanced to its fourth consecutive Beanpot final with a 4-1 victory over Harvard at TD Garden.

Michael Matheson and Steven Whitney also lit the lamp for the Eagles, who are the three-time defending champions and face Northeastern one week from now looking for an unprecedented fourth straight championship.

Parker Milner stopped 19-of-20 shots for the win, as BC's seniors improved to 7-0 in Beanpot competition.

Danny Biega notched the lone score for the Crimson, who were bidding to reach their first Beanpot title game since 2008.

Raphael Girard played well in defeat, making 42 saves.

BC and Northeastern battled in the final two years ago, with the Eagles winning by a 7-6 count in overtime.

Girard did his part to keep Harvard in a one-goal game until the late stages of the second period, when Smith and Matheson scored in a 51-second span to provide a 3-0 edge for BC.

In the earlier semifinal, freshman Kevin Roy earned his first career hat trick, leading Northeastern to a surprising 3-2 victory over Boston University.

Garrett Vermeersch added two assists for the Huskies, who advanced to the second Monday of this tournament for the third time in the last five seasons.

Chris Rawlings made 32 saves for Northeastern, which hasn't won out since the last of its four titles in 1988.

Danny O'Regan and Sahir Gill tallied for the Terriers, who haven't triumphed in the tourney since 2009, and were coming off a 3-2 overtime loss to BC in last year's championship.

Matt O'Connor allowed three goals on 26 shots in defeat.