Arians wins coaching honor

Bruce Arians, who guided the Indianapolis Colts into the playoffs, won the NFL Coach of the Year, in voting conducted by the Associated Press.

Arians, now the head coach of the Arizona Cardinals, took over the head coaching duties when Chuck Pagano was forced to step aside to battle leukemia.

Arians, who started the season as offensive coordinator and had a job to tutor rookie quarterback Andrew Luck, guided the Colts to a 9-3 record during his time at the helm. Indianapolis finished 11-5 and gained a playoff berth.

This is the first time the coaching award went to an individual who didn't serve full-time as a head coach.

Arians received 36 1/2 votes, while Pagano was second with 5 1/2. Seattle's Pete Carroll (5) was third and Minnesota's Leslie Frazier (3) was fourth in the voting.