Texas vs. The Nation features 13 FCS players

They consider themselves the lucky 13.

Thirteen FCS players are scheduled to participate in the Texas vs. The Nation all-star game scheduled for Feb. 2 at Eagle Stadium.

The showcase event, established in 2006, pits collegiate all-stars with ties to the Lone Star State against top seniors from around the country.

Three FCS players are on the Texas roster: Furman tight end Colin Anderson, Portland State defensive end Marquis Jackson and Sam Houston State cornerback Daxton Swanson.

The Nation roster includes Richmond fullback Kendall Gaskins and Tennessee State offensive tackle Rogers Gaines, who made The Sports Network FCS All- America Second Team, and New Hampshire defensive tackle Jared Smith, who was named to the third team.

Also part of The Nation roster are Illinois State quarterback Matt Brown and outside linebacker Evan Frierson, Lehigh wide receiver Ryan Spadola, Youngstown State offensive guard Lamar Mady, Samford defensive tackle Nick Williams, Old Dominion outside linebacker Craig Wilkins and New Hampshire cornerback/kickoff returner Dontra Peters.