O'Hair, Perry win Shootout by 1

Sean O'Hair and Kenny Perry closed with a 12- under 60 on Sunday to win the Franklin Templeton Shootout by one stroke.

The duo finished at 31-under-par 185. O'Hair won this event for the first time, while Perry won for the third time with his third different partner.

"Well, all three have been different, all three of my wins," Perry said. "John (Huston) and I were pretty even partners, and then the year Scott (Hoch) and I won, I played fantastic that week. It was like Scott wouldn't even hit his tee shot. I would hit the tee shot first and he wouldn't even hit it. We would just walk out to the ball.

"This year my roles have been reversed, and I was complementing Sean. It was awesome for me to be able to watch this guy."

Sunday's final round was a scramble and seven of the 12 teams shot 60 or lower.

Charles Howell III and Rory Sabbatini took second at minus-30 after firing a 15-under 57. That was the low round of the week.

Jason Dufner and Vijay Singh carded a 13-under 59 to end alone in third at minus-28 on the Gold Course at Tiburon Golf Club.

Wisconsin natives Jerry Kelly and Steve Stricker, the 2009 champions, combined for a 14-under 58. They shared fourth place at 27-under 189 with the teams of Stewart Cink and Carl Pettersson, who shot 60, and Davis Love III and Brandt Snedeker, who carded a 62.

O'Hair and Perry were on fire right out of the gate on Sunday. After a birdie at the first, Perry sank a 5-footer for birdie on No. 2. O'Hair rolled in about a 20-footer for birdie at three to move them to 22-under, where they were three strokes clear of the field.

After a pair of pars, they birdied the sixth before Perry hit his second shot at the par-4 seventh to tap-in range. They parred the next two holes and that allowed Dufner and Singh to get within one.

They birdied the 10th and Perry converted a birdie try on the 11th to get them to 26-under. As Howell and Sabbatini made their charge, O'Hair and Perry responded each time.

Starting at the 13th, O'Hair and Perry responded each time they were joined in the lead. They ran off four straight birdies from the 13th to stay one clear of the field.

O'Hair and Perry pushed their lead to two with their fifth birdie in a row at No. 17. They closed with a par to seal the victory.

"It was a great week. You know, besides winning, obviously playing with Kenny was a great experience," O'Hair stated. "We have played a lot of golf together, practice rounds, tournament rounds in the past, and just we get along great. We just had a lot fun out there."

The last two teams to win this event shared seventh place at 25-under-par 191. Dustin Johnson and Ian Poulter, the 2010 champs, closed with a 59, while last year's winners Keegan Bradley and Brendan Steele, carded a 60 on Sunday.

Former Walker Cup teammates Bud Cauley and Rickie Fowler shot 63 in the final round to take ninth at minus-20. Justin Leonard and Scott Verplank, who finished second twice, also shot 63 to end in 10th at 16-under 200.

Fredrik Jacobson and tournament-host Greg Norman carded a 63 of their own to take 11th at minus-13, while Mark Calcavecchia and Mike Weir shot 65 for the worst round of the day. They finished in last place at minus-10.

NOTES: Perry, 52, became the oldest winner of the Shootout, and became the fifth player to win the event three times ... Calcavecchia played with his 12th different partner in his 17th appearance.