Richardson, Thurmond lead All-SWAC honors

Jackson State wide receiver Rico Richardson and Arkansas-Pine Bluff defensive end Brandon Thurmond were named the Southwestern Athletic Conference's offensive and defensive players of the year, respectively, on Tuesday.

Alabama State running back Isaiah Crowell was named the newcomer of the year and Prairie View A&M kick return specialist Johnta Hebert the freshman of the year.

Richardson, a 6-foot-1, 185-pound senior, has totaled 56 receptions, 10 touchdown receptions and 1,081 receiving yards to lead the SWAC in each category.

Thurmond, a 6-2, 260-pound senior, has recorded 63 tackles, an FCS-high 15.5 sacks and 20 tackles for loss. He also has seven quarterback hurries, three fumble recoveries, one forced fumble and one blocked kick.

Arkansas-Pine Bluff had seven first-team selections to lead the All-SWAC. The Golden Lions will play in the SWAC championship game against Jackson State on Saturday.

The coach from the winning team - either Jackson State's Rick Comegy or Arkansas-Pine Bluff's Monte Coleman - will receive the coach of the year honor.

All-SWAC Football First Team


QB - Ben Anderson, So., Arkansas-Pine Bluff

RB - Kaderius Lacey, Sr., Alabama A&M

RB - Isaiah Crowell, So., Alabama State

WR - Rico Richardson, Sr., Jackson State

WR - Lee Doss, Jr., Southern

TE - Dezmond Beverly, Jr., Arkansas-Pine Bluff

OL - Terren Jones, Sr., Alabama State

OL - Zion Pyatt, Sr., Jackson State

OL - Stephen Capler, Sr., Jackson State

OL - Christopher Wilson, Sr., Arkansas-Pine Bluff

OL - Jamal Johnson-Webb, Sr., Alabama A&M


DL - Joseph LeBeau, Sr., Jackson State

DL - Brandon Thurmond, Sr., Arkansas-Pine Bluff

DL - Robert Simpson, Jr., Mississippi Valley

DL - Jimmy Daniels, Sr., Alabama State

LB - Brandon Roberts, Sr., Alabama State

LB - Keven Woods, Sr., Mississippi Valley

LB - Bill Ross, Sr., Arkansas-Pine Bluff

DB - Kejuan Riley, Sr., Alabama State

DB - Qua Cox, Jr., Jackson State

DB - Vernon Marshall, Sr., Alabama A&M

DB - Ryan Shaw, Jr., Arkansas-Pine Bluff

Special Teams

PK - Tyler Strickland, So., Arkansas-Pine Bluff

P - Bobby Wenzig, Jr., Alabama State

KR - Spencer Nelson, Sr., Prairie View A&M