Chapple, Catapano win Bushnell Cup as Ivy top players

Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple and Princeton defensive end Mike Catapano were named the Asa S. Bushnell Cup winners on Monday as the Ivy League football players of the year.

Chapple won the award as the Ivy League's offensive player of the year, while Catapano was named the defensive player of the year. Both are seniors.

Chapple set Harvard single-season records with 3,169 yards of total offense and 24 touchdown passes while the Crimson posted an 8-2 season. He had a 161.51 passing efficiency rating, which ranks third in the Football Championship Subdivision.

Chapple became the seventh Harvard player to be honored as a Bushnell Cup recipient.

He won top Ivy honors over last year's winner, Cornell junior quarterback Jeff Mathews. This season, Mathews led the league in passing attempts (405), completions (251) and passing yards (3,196), and finished second with 18 touchdown passes.

Catapano led the league with 12 sacks, ranked second with 15.5 tackles for loss and was in on 41 tackles. He helped Princeton win four more games than a year ago for a 5-5 record.

He became the seventh Princeton player to be bestowed with the Bushnell Cup

The runner-up to Catapano was Brown senior cornerback and return specialist A.J. Cruz. He was the Bears' second-leading tackler with 71 and intercepted four passes, second-best in the league.