Four named finalists for top Ivy honors

Princeton defensive lineman Mike Catapano, Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple, Brown cornerback/return specialist A.J. Cruz and Cornell quarterback Jeff Mathews were named Tuesday as the finalists for the Asa S. Bushnell Cup, which honors the Ivy League football players of the year.

Chapple and Mathews are finalists for offensive player of the year, while Catapano and Cruz are finalists for defensive player of the year. Mathews hopes to win the offensive award for the second straight season.

The Bushnell Cup winners will be announced Monday in New York.

Chapple had a 161.51 passer rating this season, ranking second in the FCS, and set Harvard single-season records with 3,169 yards of total offense and 24 touchdown passes.

Mathews led the league in passing attempts (405), completions (251) and passing yards (3,196), and finished second with 18 touchdown passes.

Catapano led the league with 12 sacks and ranked second with 15.5 tackles for loss. He was in on 41 tackles.

Cruz was Brown's second-leading tackler with 71 and intercepted four passes, second-best in the league.

Chapple, Catapono and Cruz are seniors. Mathews is a junior.